We Won!

As you may or may not know, my wife is in Chicago this weekend. She’s there for a family event and she had an extra day to walk around downtown and do really whatever she liked. Something we don’t get to do while travelling with the kids. She saw the Chagall exhibit at the Art Institute, visited the gift shop at the Architecture Foundation, and saw some friends. With all the hoopla about the $640 million dollar jackpot for the Mega Millions lottery, she stopped off along her wanderings and bought a ticket.

She didn’t tell me, but just the same, I checked yesterday morning to see if the winners were in Chicago. There was a winner in Illinois, but downstate near St. Louis. Oh well, if she bought a ticket we’ll still have to wait until next time.

Then late last night I got a call. It was my wife and she had an excited tone in her voice. I was worried. Instantly all the worst possible family events raced through my mind. Here is the conversation that followed:

“We Won!” she blurted out.
“Won? Won what?”
“That big lottery!”
“What you drove to downstate Illinois?” I said rather skeptically.
“No, not the jackpot, silly! The second prize!”
“Wait, you’re right. There were a bunch of those sold in Chicago. How much!”
“$250 000″
“Really!?! Holy crap!… Wait, what time is it?”
“It’s 10:40pm here in Chicago. Why?”
“Good, it’s not yet April Fools.”

~ by Frank on April 1, 2012.

3 Responses to “We Won!”

  1. OMG I so believe this! Every word is so deliciously true! :-)

  2. LOL. I won too…. in Pretend Land… and then I woke up. Elizabeth Hurley was with me and just wouldn’t leave me alone. ;)

  3. Sorry, it is such a tradition that I feel compelled to write one every year.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

