International Male

International Male
Westmount Square by Ludwig Mies van der Rohe in the International style of architecture.

A few weeks ago I was running errands during lunch when I realized I was only about a block away from these buildings by Mies. So I sauntered over and spent about 15 minutes taking shots. As I was taking one of my last shots, I saw a security guard coming toward me. I wasn’t sure if he was doing his rounds like the last one who passed by me or if he was actually coming over to chat. It turns out it was the latter and he quite nicely told me that if I wanted to take pictures I would need to get permission from the administration office. I thanked him and then proceeded to leave the premises since I had already taken all the pictures I was interested in taking (about two dozen).

At one point as I was looking for shots, I was disappointed to see this tube hanging out of the building since it ruined the purity of the facade. But then I thought I’d just make some lemonade out of it. And hence the title.

~ by Frank on June 23, 2008.

8 Responses to “International Male”

  1. I never knew that building was by Mies van der Rohe. I had my MRIs in there, but always accesed it through the depressing long tunnel from Atwater Metro. Next time I’ll use the street.

    (BTW It is a great picture and you made me laugh)

  2. Ha ha ha! That’s a great lemonade.

    Do you know about the Mies gas station on Nun’s Island?

  3. Now I just love the title.

  4. mare: I’ve actually not been inside. I should check it out.

    Blork: I saw the gas station a while back and thought it wasn’t too great. But I did try to see it again last weekend on my bike and got about a couple blocks from it, but my passenger made a strong case to go back home.

    Thanks, torn.

  5. Yeah, as a Mies it’s not great, but as a gas station it’s fraking awesome!

    It’s one of the last buildings he did before he died, so I guess he wasn’t at the top of his game. On the other hand, how much can you do with a gas station? (Especially on a gas station’s budget!)

  6. I love this picture. It’s like a funny nose on the face of modern art.

  7. ‘Tis a cute pic.

  8. http://www.embruns.net/
    aka erreur de chargement de la page
    http://blogues.cyberpresse.ca/lagace/

Leave a Reply

 
