Moved

So it has now been a week at the new place. And I have to say I’m really really enjoying it. It’s still a bit early, but I feel rejuvinated. I really enjoy all the movement, all the faces, and all there is to see. Some of the excitement may be due the change and all the new things, but I really hope it will continue.

As for the new diggs. It is all new construction. I have an interior office, but I have a full height three foot wide window next to the door so I can see out the windows toward downtown over the partitions of those outside my office. Plus with that window and the door open, the office feels quite open. I’m quite surprised how much nicer the new office feels as opposed to recycled one we were in before. It is so much of an improvement. As an added bonus, they have decided to have our desks built instead of reusing the ones from the old place. And they allowed us to determine how it will be arranged. So on Monday I should have a custom designed layout which I feel will really help things run smoothly.

The building is also a big big improvement over the previous place. Elevators that run almost too efficient. (I had butterflys in my stomach a couple times since it drops so quickly.) We have joined the other divisions of the firm that bought us, so we have many amenities that come with a larger firm with many more people. While I’m opposed to large corporations due to the power they wield sometimes, I really like working for larger firms due to the benefits they are capable of offering.

But it is not completely rosey. First, parking is more difficult. I have yet to determine my routine for finding spots in places that likely have open spots on the street, but it seems certain that I’ll be parking farther away than I had before. The up side is that I won’t have to pay for parking and I will be getting more exercise. The commute will also be longer and I will be dealing with more anxious drivers. Before I only had to cross the Plateau, now I have to cross downtown. And it looks like I may have finally found those crazy Montreal drivers everyone seems to talk about. Though oddly they seem to be primarily west of Peel because I didn’t encounter this many drivers like this when I drove around east of there.

As for the neighborhood, at the moment it feels like heaven. The ability to walk down a street and have a dozen options for lunch is bliss. Or the other day I needed childrens toothpaste and a battery for my watch. I got the toothpaste at the pharmacy, went next door to the jeweler who said they could not change the battery in that brand of watch. So he refered me to a place two doors down on the other side of the pharmacy. I love being back downtown. We are also quite close to Concordia U so there is a higher percentage of young beautiful (and smart) people around.

It’s quite possible that I’ll slowly get annoyed with the increased proximity to others and density once the newness wears off. But for now I’m having a blast.

~ by Frank on November 9, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
