Weight Update – Month Four

Well, not much progress was made this month. Actually, I slipped back another pound or two. I blame fatigue. Not going to sleep when I should then being tired the next day. So by mid-morning I need a little pick-me-up by which coffee alone would not succeed. I discovered that the restaurant at the base of our building now sells Peanut Butter Twix. I can’t even begin to tell you how much I love those candy bars. I love almost any peanut butter-chocolate combination and these were my favorite as a kid. Unlike Reeses cups (why are they sold in three packs now? two would suffice) which are quite heavy on the sugar side, PB Twix has that cookie that mellows out the pb & choc. So I would go down and grab one for that little boost until lunchtime or to carry me over until getting home for supper. In addition, my time to prepare lunches and sometimes breakfasts has been limited. So I’ve been eating more fast food than I should.

But after this past weekend of some more binging, I’ve decided to put my foot down and make a run to drop back down below 200 with a goal of below 190 by August. That’s a bit over a pound a week. Though this time it will not be with some fancy diet and I’ll return to something more sustainable. The fancy diets work and work well, but the rebound from the suppression of many edible pleasures always nullifies most of the results. So I’ll be limiting sweets, alcohol, and fast food while increasing fruit, vegetables, and fiber. I’ll also work on getting more sleep and getting more exercise. So I’ll update you again next month on how successful this is.

~ by Frank on May 8, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
