Bright Lights, Big City

As many of you know, I’m a city boy. I love the city. The crush of people, the movement, the world at your fingertips, and of course the architecture. I’ve had the fortune of visiting and living in a few major European and North American cities. One thing I think is interesting is how my view of these cities had changed over time. Basically my impressions of it before seeing it first hand and then after having visited it. In some cases, my view of the city changed even before visiting it.

I thought it might be of interest to share these impressions given that I grew up in a different place than much of my readership and that the population from where I am from may have viewed these other cities in a different light. The cities I hope to cover include: Chicago, Montréal, Paris, New York, Los Angeles, London, and a few other smaller European cities that are cultural centers. At the moment I’ll exclude cities where I did not have a strong sense of before visiting and ones where I did not get a good sense of the place during my visits there.

~ by Frank on April 13, 2007.

5 Responses to “Bright Lights, Big City”

  1. Looking forward to reading your city impressions.

  2. Thanks, I’m hoping it will be of interest.

  3. Me too. I love cities, and I love reading and writing about them.

  4. ^ I wish I could write something interesting about them, but I certainly enjoy reading up on cities. Especially Montréal, Chicago and LA. Looking forward to it!

  5. blork & Bruno, I hope it will meet your expectations.

Leave a Reply

 
