For Posterity

Many of you have probably seen this via Patrick or Dan, but I thought I’d post it here for others who many not have seen this.

A year and a half ago, My Humps by the Black Eyed Peas was wildly popular. I really like the song, though I don’t really care for the lyrics. You could hear the song almost constantly and apparently the video was also getting a ton of playing time. My TV time consists of cartoons, news programs, and reality shows (in that order) so I missed it (gasps) and only saw part of it once as I was flipping channels. The first time I had seen it in it’s entirety was four minutes ago. So for those of you who have not seen it, here it is:

Well, the thing that has created a minor buzz is that Canadian Alanis Morissette has done a parady of that popular video as can be seen here:

I’ve always thought it would be interesting to do Nine Inch Nails’ Head Like a Hole sung like Frank Sinatra, or Everyday is Halloween by Ministry like on acoustical guitar a la Personal Jesus by Depeche Mode. If I ever get into being able to play music, those are things I’d like to try.

Then after a half hour of watching other Morissette videos (more videos than I’ve seen in the last decade), I came across this rather interesting video:

What do you think? Happy Easter.

~ by Frank on April 8, 2007.

6 Responses to “For Posterity”

  1. I’m still grooving on the Sad Kermit video.

  2. As you may recall, I’m no fan of Fergie and that damn humps song. So I was pretty happy to see Alanis take the piss out of her.

  3. I don’t know, I wouldn’t mind seeing Fergie in concert. I mean, who often can you see some chick pee herself, and it’s not even a geek show?

  4. I just like the music. I’m actually not very fond of Fergie, especially up close. Alanis on the other hand.

    Didn’t Johnny Cash do a version of Head Like a Hole just before he died. Looks like NIN remixes are pretty popular.

  5. Cash did a version of “Hurt” which I happen to like quite a bit.

    Oh, and speaking of Johnny Cash, his house burned down.
    http://popwatch.ew.com/popwatch/2007/04/johnny_cashs_ho.html

  6. After I poked around a bit, I realized that it was Hurt that he covered and not Head Like a Hole. I’ve probably heard his version, but I’d still like to go out and get a copy of it.

Leave a Reply

 
