Summer Olympics 2016 – Chicago

For those of you who are not in Chitown, the city I grew up in along with Los Angeles are the two cities competing for the US nomination for the 2016 Summer Olympics.

I can’t tell you how excited I am of the possiblity of this happening. If you been reading these pages you know how proud I am of that city. It would be really amazing for an event of that magnitude to take place there. In my mind there is no sporting event bigger or of as much importance.

venue-map-large

So here are some specifics. They intend to build a temporary stadium in one of Daniel Burnham’s Frederick Olmsted designed public parks. Currently to be designed by the same architects as the renovated Soldier Field.

OS-open-close

olympic-stadium-west

And Soldier Field will also serve as a venue for soccer matches.

soldier-field

The rowing events will take place at Monroe Harbor in the city’s frontyard.

lf_rowing

Tennis and white water events will take place within walking distance of where we used to live.

tennis-center
All photos are courtesy of the official bid website.

Actually the majority of the events look to take place on or near the lake.

It looks like the commitee will announce which city is chosen this month. From there, it will be a few more years before a city is chosen among those around the world. And I’m already very anxious to find out if the city will be the one. I have to say that if this goes through I will definitely be there and may even see what I could do to be a part of it.

~ by Frank on April 4, 2007.

10 Responses to “Summer Olympics 2016 – Chicago”

  1. I love the signs here. I like the one showing you not to run for the bus (also at metro papineau).

  2. I think the signs are more interesting since at times the image is the only thing conveying what needs to be said so they don’t have to write it in both languages. But sometimes they can be a bit confusing.

    I actually started a Flickr group this morning about signs in Montréal.

  3. I’m really looking forward to this decision also. Chicago is such an amazing city, even if I don’t really care for the olympics — I’ll gladly take any excuse to go back!

  4. I was born and raised in Chicago but have been living in Florence, Italy since 1978….I miss it there!

  5. Florence is a great city surrounded by great countryside and other great small villages. But I can definitely see how you miss it. I go back once or twice a year to Chicago, but still miss it.

    Maybe we’ll see you in 2016.

  6. are you living in Chicago now? Whereabout? Just checking my threads in my blog and I found you again! It is hard to travel…now my parents live in Florida, unfortuanately.

  7. I hope Chicago gets to be the Olympic city….

  8. No, We’ve been living in Montréal for almost four years now. But we return at least once a year. I grew up on the north side in the NorthCenter neighborhood near Lincoln Square.

    I hope they get it also.

  9. […] the city chosen to be the bid city for the US for the 2016 Olympics is… Chicago! I’ve said it before, but this would be huge. The Columbian Exposition for our day. I still can’t express how […]

  10. great news, wish I could be there when it happens….

    Btw, Montreal is a wonderful place, cold winters, though. I have been there about 3 times visiting and have 2 friends here that grew up there. Well, at least the plane ride is not so bad for you…getting home.

    😉 Susan

Leave a Reply

 
