Celine

There is one aspect about me that I have not yet made known on these pages. I would have come out earlier, but I know that many, including a high percentage of my readership, may not see it in a favorable light.

I am a HUGE fan of Celine Dion, the queen of Québec. There is just so much to love about her. She is always so upbeat. She is charitable with her time and wealth. She speaks so eloquently and often about how she is feeling and what is going on in her life. She’s the onstage equivalent of a blogger persay.

Back in Chicago, we paid top dollar just to be on the floor to see her. And the crowd melted during her extended set rendition of My Heart Will Go On which alternated between the original version and one with a jazzy jamaican beat. And who could not love her husband who has been alongside her since she was a little girl. He has such an appealing sasquatch features that everyone should love. When they came out with the calendar featuring her with their offspring, we ran out and got several copies to pass along to family and friends. There are also several copies hanging throughout the house so that we will never forget.

And it is particularly hurtful to hear of people making fun of her innocent soul. She has done nothing but instill pride in the people of Québec and bring this land to the attention of the worldwide audience. You wonder if it is not with a ting of jealousy that they direct their ire.

So why would someone with my interests find the Québec equivalent of Barbara Streisand so appealing. I really don’t have an answer for that. I can only ponder that the manner with which she is done up reminds me of the goth culture of my youth. Or maybe it’s just the sparkly dresses. I haven’t a clue.

So take a little time out this first day of April and give thanks for the songstress of francophone Canada. And remember the lyrics from her song Bewitched, Bothered, and Bewildered:

He’s a fool and don’t I know it
But a fool can have his charms

Happy April Fools Day Everyone.

~ by Frank on April 1, 2007.

6 Responses to “Celine”

  1. Dammit, I actually fell for this one. 🙂

  2. Not a chance. But then, I remember your music series.

  3. Ya know, I am officially the most gullible person in the world, so yeah, I fell for it. Totally — at least until the “innocent soul” line. At that point something clicked.

    Touché for you.

  4. Zura: that makes two years in a row. Though the part about going to see her in concert is true. I’ll say that it was an experience. Of the people around me, there was only one other straight male and it was obvious that it was not his idea for him to come. She’s a great singer and has been doing good things for Quebec and it’s visibility so it’s almost all good. Even if I do find her to be quite a flake. We went in order to support someone from Quebec who had made it. Though now we’ll reserve that cash for the Cirque.

    Vila, I thought I might throw you off by saying it was a secret pleasure. Or even with the goth reference.

    Blork, I think Zura’s got you beat on that one. I was less concerned about fooling people than I was worried about pissing off the hard-core Celine fans who are among us.

  5. “hard-core” and “celine”.

    If those terms could reconcile then mayhap I would like her better.

  6. […] might read it diagonally and miss the punchline. In last year’s post, I confessed that I was a hardcore fan of Celine Dion. It was one of my main reasons for moving here and I was pissed when she moved to […]

Leave a Reply

 
