In Real Life

For those of you who have not met me in real life, I offer the recent conversation my wife and I had on our way to work the other day. (I’m paraphrasing since I don’t remember the exact words.)

wife: You know I talked with your father the other night. (I wasn’t home since I was working late.) He asked if we talked about [something]. I told him our time to talk was pretty limited seeing as much of the time we are either talking to or tending to the kids. He said that maybe I should talk to you via your blog.(OUCH!) He said you’re more articulate on the blog. No, no, really you write very well even though you don’t talk very much.

me: well, yeah, you know me. (chuckle).

~ by Frank on March 22, 2007.

2 Responses to “In Real Life”

  1. Funny anecdote, and one I can relate to also. About being more articulate on your blog, I’d never thought about it much myself but I think that makes sense after all. A blog that doesn’t appeal to readers wouldn’t be very satisfying, and it does take some work to make an interesting post.

  2. As my wife points out, I like to know what I am going to say before I say it instead of improvising. So that tends to limit how much I actually say. Very generally, I talk primarily about things I have thought through already.

    But with writing/blogging, I can think through it much more and get the point across in the manner that I want to say it. That’s likely the difference.

Leave a Reply

 
