Beauvais Cathedral

Cathédrale Saint-Pierre de Beauvais
I thought this dark and dreary photo would be appropriate for today’s warmer and sunny weather.

This is the tallest of the high gothic cathedrals at 150 feet tall. They were pushing the limits when they attempted to build it. The vaulting of the choir collapsed once during construction in 1284 and the ambitious crossing tower collapsed during construction in 1573. Work on the building was the considered cursed and very little work was completed afterward.

Interestingly I found the following passage in Wikipedia:

During the Middle Ages, on January 14, the Feast of Asses was celebrated in the Beauvais Cathedral, in commemoration of the Flight into Egypt.

~ by Frank on March 13, 2007.

5 Responses to “Beauvais Cathedral”

  1. Sounds delicious. We could use one of those here.

  2. I’m not sure which one you’re refering to… and I’m afraid to ask.

  3. This is by far one of my favorite cathedral structures…..the architecture was amazing in those times

  4. I was fortunate to have stayed in Beauvais in Oct 2008 for 2 weeks. I loved seeing this Cathedral, it is so huge and beautiful. I couldn’t take enough pictures and enjoyed seeing the details that make this gothic Cathedral.

  5. Wow! Quite beautiful. I would love to visit it…

Leave a Reply

 
