Housing

Housing
Taken from the office where I work, Montréal, Québec, Canada. February 2007.

~ by Frank on March 9, 2007.

6 Responses to “Housing”

  1. This is a good town for people in the “flat roof” business!

  2. I’ve seen quite a few of them redone from this vantage point. It appears to be a straight-forward operation that they complete in one day.

    They also do alot of underpinning of building with pile foundations in this neighborhood. The expansive clay substrate bounces these buildings around like nothing I’d ever seen before.

  3. This is a really cool photo! Montreal is a pretty dense city despite the low height outside of downtown.

    The building across the street from my place got its flat roof redone last summer… the smell wasn’t too pleasant

  4. Bruno, Yes it is quite dense. Small streets and no separation between buildings. Back home there was always six feet separating the buildings and the street width reflected the wide-open spaces of the Midwest instead of Europe. One of the main reasons for the separtion of buildings was the Great Chicago Fire of 1871. They were still a bit gunshy.

  5. I have a love/hate relationship with the spiral staircase — must come from a deep-rooted childhood fear of slipping and hurting myself in them. They’re fine in the summer (although not practical for moving furniture) but a real pain in winter. I’m glad that my building’s staircases are inside the building…

  6. The stairs surprised me since I would have thought it best they be inside due to wintery conditions. The fear of slipping was my first thought also.

Leave a Reply

 
