Pineburst

Pineburst
In the Royal Garden of the garden at the Chateau de Versailles, France. September 1991.

Since I’ve been posting photos on Flickr, I’ve started seeing trends in what I like to take photos of that I had not really taken notice of before. I already knew that I liked gothic cathedrals and the built environment. But now I notice that I like seeing streetscapes and the assembly of rather non-descript buildings. That in combination with other elements of urban life like cars, lamp posts, and the actual street.

And almost everyone one of my photos is devoid of people. It’s almost like an unwritten architectural rule. The building can be in context, but keep out the people. And to a degree it make sense. People with their own characteristics detract from the focus which is the building. We are naturally programmed to look at other people to observe, size-up, or whathaveyou. It’s hard to take a shot that prevents that reflex unless it is part of the composition. On the flip side, I’d really like to get into taking pictures of people. Portraits and candid public shots have always intrigued me even though I take very few. But I have always had the sensation that I’m intruding on other people’s privacy when I take candid shots even if it is in public. It’s very aboriginal like I’m taking their soul without permission.

One goal that I’ve always had in relation to photos is to find the unique perspective or composition. Something that turns something ordinary into the abstact. It’s not easy for me to do, but apparently one of my natural reflexes to try to achieve this is to look up. I now have over a dozen shots in my photostream that look at things from below.

I’m also finding that if I don’t take pictures of buildings, I take pictures of trees. I also have almost three dozen shots of trees. I don’t know the appeal. I suppose it’s the majestic nature of them. The structure and the complexity. And I like them silhouetted against the sky.

~ by Frank on March 5, 2007.

2 Responses to “Pineburst”

  1. Beautiful.

  2. Thanks, JP. This is another case of where I’ve always liked the shot, but didn’t think it would appeal to others. But the feedback I’ve been getting has been quite positive.

Leave a Reply

 
