Last Throes

Morning Rush
I’m jumping the gun here, but winter seems to be headed out the door. It’s been a short one and I’m not desperately anticipating spring, but I’m looking forward to it nonetheless. This shot is from what I considered the coldest day of the year a couple weeks ago. My face nearly turned to ice during the 100 feet walk from the opposite street corner to the entrance of our building. The wind was whipping something fierce and the wind chill factor must have been around -50C at that moment.

~ by Frank on February 27, 2007.

3 Responses to “Last Throes”

  1. I love that photo. But I think you are jumping the gun. We’re going to get whacked at least two more times before spring hits. Won’t necessarily be super cold (I think the -20 days are behind us), but we’ll get more snow for sure.

  2. I was thinking the same thing this morning. The cold stuff is probably behind us. Real winter was very short. But remember, global warming DOES NOT EXIST, and don’t let those liberal commie pinko faggots tell you otherwise.

  3. Blork, Yeah, I know there is still some wintery weather ahead of us. But like you said, the very cold stuff is probably over and the end is in sight.

    Jonas, That’s something I’ve been constantly thinking about. First, that this winter has been very short. There was no prelude of cold weather before the very cold stuff came. Kinda like we went from a long late fall directly to the heart of winter.

    The second thing is that although I believe in global warming, I’m not going to jump on the bandwagon and scream that this winter is direct evidence of that. My stance is that we’ve had an unusually warm winter that was enhanced by global warming. Back in Chicago they have been pummeled this winter with cold and snow. They’ve been having the same winter as we have had, but they’re not as used to it.

Leave a Reply

 
