Last of the Blogspot-hicans

As with any new fad, bandwagon, or technology, I seem to be the last of the people I know to make the exodus to WordPress. It was the same with Walkmans, CD’s, cellphones, and a home computer. It’s always been part reluctance, part inertia, and part available cash. Plus I’ve always questioned popular items for whether they were just a fad or if they were truly much better. Often that has meant delaying enjoyment of things that really enhance life.

So here’s the new blog. The transition was effortless with only one button to push. It even brought over my blogger uploaded photos. Though I’ll likely tie them all to Flickr. As Vila is doing, I’m updating all my categories which was only half-done when I switched to blogger-beta.

As with any move, it doesn’t feel quite comfortable yet. There were some aspects to the interface and customibility that I prefered on the blogger beta side. The big advantage here that I like is that I can add my own header image. I’ll keep poking around to see if there are other items like the blogroll that I can modify to my liking.

~ by Frank on February 12, 2007.

18 Responses to “Last of the Blogspot-hicans”

  1. Have fun on WordPress… I’m still a Blogger blogger… I’ll switch eventually…

  2. Welcome aboard! It will take some getting used to, and I don’t like not being able to edit my own template, but so far I think I can live with the differences. More as it happens, I suppose.

  3. Oops. Sorry, Vanou. I had forgotten that you were still with blogger.

    Thanks, Vila. I’m hoping that WordPress has the same tracking ability or better than I had with Sitemeter. Or that I can install Sitemeter on the blog. If not, I’ll miss being able to see where everyone is coming from along with some of the statistics they offered.

  4. Yes, you can add sitemeter Frank, there’s a javascriptless workaround. I’ve emailed you some info.

    And hey, welcome! 🙂

  5. Looks sharp. The one-click transfer makes it sound tempting, though I don’t think I’d consider it unless the templates were editable. I’ve modified one of the Blogger templates so far beyond recognition, and added so many little bells n’ whistles, that I don’t wanna lose that just yet.

  6. Welcome, welcome. 🙂

  7. Thanks, Sadia. I’ll make the changes soon.

    John, Yeah, I’m a tad disappointed that the templates lack customability, but I’m still new to this and still have some poking around to do.

    Thanks,Zura. With all that I said above, I really like the look and some of the bells and whistles that I’ve found poking around. Kinda like moving to a new neighborhood.

  8. Hi Frank..
    Welcome to WordPress..I switched from Typepad a few months ago, amd am enjoying so far.

    Gino(stuff i think about)

  9. Thanks, Gino. And glad to hear from you. I’ve been following your writings for a while now.

  10. Hi
    I always check out your blog as well…Good stuff.
    Gino

  11. Welcome to WordPress Frank! And keep up the great work, your insight on Montreal and other subjects is admirable!

    Marty

  12. Merci, Martin. I keep up with your site also. Back in Chicago I used to do something similar by email. Keep up the good work.

  13. Lucky you with the one-touch transfer. I made the mistake of “upgrading” to blogger2, which makes it impossible to transfer 5 years worth of posts over. Therefore, it’s a process of copying and pasting, which is incredibly annoying.
    I blame the Google overlords.

  14. Michel, they just came out with the one-touch transfer for the new blogger. That’s why Vila and I made a mad dash for the door. With over 300 posts and 800 comments, the transition took about 30 minutes. I’m not sure if your volume may have different results.

    It was great to finally meet you the other night (at least briefly).

  15. I’m going to have to try that, although I’ve already move most of my posts over.

  16. Oh a belated congrats on moving to wordpress! 🙂

  17. Thanks, Rachel. It’s nice to have finally graduated to WP. Next step is getting my own URL.

  18. I’m new to blogging, but learning the ropes.

Leave a Reply

 
