Adieu, Montreal.

Well, all the people who know me now know that we decided to and have moved back to Chicago. In some regards it was not an easy decision while at the same time it was an easy decision. Life changes like that can be complex and considering a choice between two great cities and locales is not simple. I could rattle off all the pros and cons of the move along with the variety of reasons to justify it, but it really boiled down to happiness. Stepping back from it all, we looked and said that we feel that we will be happier in one place more than the other and that it is the right thing for us to do as a family. If you really want to hear about everything involved including all the logistics, I suggest you go to my new blog that I have used to document the process and our thoughts. It is appropriately called “The Prodigal Chicagoan”.

As I said this was not a referendum on Montreal. We love Montreal and loved living there. It is a city that offers big city culture with many conveniences of a smaller town. Plus it has easier access to nature and nearby mountains. I ran into difficulties living there, but that might not happen to everyone. We had a great time in Montreal with many memories. We have grown as people and have gained experience while living there which will make us stronger people than if we had not lived there. We have made some great friends who I expect to keep throughout my life. Almost all of whom I met through the creation of this blog.

Some might ask if we would move back to Montreal. It’s a hard question to answer right now since we are in the honeymoon phase of our time in Chicago. Plus many of my difficulties were rectified with the move. If those difficulties were no longer there, I would say from a personal stand point that it would still be hard only because our return has shown how deep our root are in Chicago despite 10 years away. If the difficulties I experienced in Montreal were gone and my roots in Chicago were not a factor, then yes I would return.

Given the fairly winding road my life has taken me, I have learned to never say never. Life changes and sometimes takes you in directions you never would have expected. When I was young I thought I would live my whole life in Chicago, but life has taken me to Europe and Montreal and there were possible side trips to Asia and the Caribbean that didn’t materialize. So for now this is Adieu, Montreal. We will still see you often to visit family and friends. We shall see if our paths cross again in the future.

BTW, a post on the formal closing of this blog will happen in the near future. So this is not a final good-bye from this blog.

~ by Frank on January 11, 2014.

2 Responses to “Adieu, Montreal.”

  1. Hi Frank,
    We were in Versailles together. Let me know if you guys are in Chicago- I may need to hire you for some structural work.

  2. Hi Frank,

    I am a structural engineer as well. Although I am from the Dominican Republic, my structures experience has been in the U.S. (Las Vegas and Seattle). I am on my final phase of the immigration process towards obtaining my canadian permanent residence (hopefully before the year ends). I am hoping to move to Montreal, and would like to know if there are any structural engineering firms that I could look into (including yours maybe). Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

